In the mid 1880s, a one-room schoolhouse was built to serve the surrounding community, later known as Mt. Gap. Located right on the road to and from Leesburg, the schoolhouse operated for more than 70 years, finally closing in 1953. One teacher instructed multiple grades throughout the day. A child moved to the next grade when they completed the required work not when the calendar school year ended. Children graduating from Mt. Gap Schoolhouse had the ability to read, write well, and do math which equipped them for their lives in the community. Oatlands and the National Trust for Historic Preservation acquired the schoolhouse in 1973 and use it to interpret late 19th/early 20th century education in Loudoun County. Recently, Oatlands hired Dunn Decorating to paint the building’s exterior and conduct minor repairs. The vibrant red siding and soft cream trim hark back to the days of little red schoolhouses, a perfect setting for interpretive programs and special events.