The Bachelor’s Cottage at Oatlands, constructed in 1821, is one of the most altered buildings on the property. Nearly every generation left their mark on the structure. Over time, it transformed from a one-story utilitarian room, likely used as a dairy or farm office, to a cozy two-story residence with an indoor bathroom and attached porch. Currently, this charming cottage is used for special events. Oatlands’ staff and volunteers are working to repair exterior issues including deteriorated siding, missing window glaze, failed and chipped paint, deteriorated posts, and missing porch floor boards. Project is ongoing.
back to History & Preservation